Link copied!
Sign in / Sign up

Growth of Baby Teeth Sequentially

Teeth are one of the most important parts of a baby’s development. Most of the time, teeth development is considered as a baby milestone of its own and so it becomes all the more important that you understand your little one’s teeth. Although most of the people know the average age by which their baby will start developing teeth, they seldom know the sequence in which the teeth will develop. And so, to help you understand your little one’s dental development more, we would like to tell you about it.

1. Lower central incisors

The first set of teeth to develop in your baby will be the bottom front 2 teeth which are also known as central incisors. Generally, they appear between the fifth and the tenth month. During teething, heredity also plays an important role. Basically, if the parents had early teething then the child will have the same.

2. Upper central incisors

The next in line is the upper central incisors which help give the initial structure to the child’s jaw. These teeth start appearing between 6-12 months of age.

3. Upper lateral incisors

Once the upper central incisors appear, the next set of teeth to appear are the lateral incisors on the upper side. That is the beginning of the first set of teeth that you can see. This sequencing gives the baby a defined face and structure.

4. Lower lateral incisors

As per the sequence, the lower lateral incisors are the next ones to develop thereby completing a major part of front teeth development.

5. Upper premolars

Once the incisors have developed, the upper first molars appear and this is the sign that your child can properly chew the food. The first molars are very important and are responsible for the chewing action once the food is in the mouth.

6. Lower premolars

The next set to develop is the lower premolar just like the upper premolars. They come on both sides almost at the same time following nature’s law of symmetry.

7. Upper canines

The next set of teeth in line are the canines. Generally, it’s the upper canines on both the sides that develop first. These canine teeth are responsible for the person being able to tear into the food and taking small bites.

8. Lower canines

As per symmetry, the next set of teeth to pop out are the lower canines which together with the upper canines are responsible for tearing extremely harsh food and helping the child get proper bites.

9. Upper molars

At last, the molars start developing and are one of the strongest teeth. The molars help the child chew the food and make it into a blob that can easily pass through the oesophagus.

10. Lower molars

Completing the final teeth development, the lower molars come out and the child’s teeth are complete. By this time, your little one will be ready to eat anything and everything they want to. 

Tinystep Baby-Safe Natural Toxin-Free Floor Cleaner

Click here for the best in baby advice
What do you think?
Not bad
scroll up icon